Navigation Menu 

Collaborative Pharmacy Practice Committee: Member Spotlights


A Message from Brooklyn Nelson, PharmD, BC-ADM, and Brad Cagle, PharmD, MBA, BCPS

May 2020—Formerly known as the ad hoc Ambulatory Care/Collaborative Practice Committee and TSHP ad hoc Credentialing Committee, we have united our efforts to form the new Collaborative Pharmacy Practice Committee of the Tennessee Pharmacists Association.

With this change, our mission statement is to establish Tennessee as a national leader in advancing the profession of pharmacy and collaborating with third-party payors in order to create, maintain, and expand financially sustainable collaborative practice models across all patient care settings.

We are excited about the opportunity to identify and disseminate best practices by regularly performing TPA Collaborative Practice Spotlights. We are very excited to feature thepractice sites of both Jonathan Hughes and Jessica Some as prominent examples of the strong work that is already being done in our state.

We are also very eager to pursue innovative opportunities to advance the profession by off ering a volunteer Resident Co-Chair position, with the sole intent of fostering stronger relationships amongst pharmacy residents across the state and providing them with the resources necessary to build their own practice site(s) in alignment with their ASHP residency-based goals and outcomes. We will be reaching out to all PGY2 residency directors across the state to notify them of the volunteer position and will be accepting applications for our inaugural candidate through August 1, 2020.

Moving forward, we will continue to put Tennessee on the map for advanced collaborative practice initiatives and plan to regularly engage with national organizations such as the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists, American College of Clinical Pharmacy, and American Pharmacists Association to identify innovative national strategies that can be utilized in Tennessee, as well as opportunities for our Tennessee-based practitioners to get more involved on a national level.

We are truly humbled to be able to work with such a genuine, hard-working, and talented group of pharmacists, and we cannot wait to see what they come up with next.

Please click on the links below.

Jonathan Hughes, PharmD, BCPS, BCACP [May 2020]
Ambulatory Care Clinical Pharmacist Specialist, Saint Louise Family
Medicine Center/Saint Thomas Rutherford

Jessica Some, PharmD [May 2020]
PGY‐2 Ambula tory Care Pharmacy Resident, Cookeville Regional Medical
Center/Tennessee Heart Cardiology Clinic/Cookeville Regional Medical
Group (CRMG) Pulmonology

Additional committee member spotlights will be added in the near future.